Matthew Whitaker

Мэттью УитакерOfficial Website

July 22, 2018 on the main stage of the festival will perform Matthew Whitaker – a young talent from the US and the headliner of the international festival “Jazz on the Dnieper 2018”.

Born in 2001 in Hackensack, NJ, Matthew Whitaker grew up surrounded by music. His love for playing music first began at the young age of 3, after his grandfather gave him a small Yamaha keyboard. At 9, Matthew began teaching himself how to play the Hammond B3 organ. Four years later, he became the youngest artist to be endorsed by Hammond—in its 80+ year history. He was also named a Yamaha Artist at 15, becoming the youngest musician to join the stellar group of jazz pianists.

Matthew has had years of music instruction, currently studying classical piano and drums at The Filomen M. D’Agostino Greenberg Music School of the Lighthouse Guild in NYC. It is the only community music school for the blind and visually impaired in the US. He also attends the Manhattan School of Music’s Precollege Jazz Program. He previously studied at The Harlem School of the Arts and was a member of both the Jazz House Big Band and the Organ Messengers at Jazz House Kids in Montclair, NJ. Matthew has received the “Outstanding Soloist Award” from Jazz at Lincoln Center, the Charles Mingus High School Competition and Festival and the Essentially Ellington High School Jazz Band Competition & Festival. He was also recognized by the Harlem International Film Festival, which named him “Most Remarkable Young Person on Screen.”

He’s already toured both here in the US and abroad, performing before The Youth Assembly at the United Nations headquarters in NYC, and on other world renowned stages, including:

  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
  • Apollo Theater
  • Carnegie Hall
  • Jazz at Lincoln Center in NYC
  • SFJAZZ Center in San Francisco
  • John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC
  • The Raymond F. Kravis Center for the Performing Arts & Ali Cultural Arts in Florida
  • International venues in France, Italy, Morocco, and Japan

In 2010, Matthew was a winning participant in the “Child Stars of Tomorrow” competition, as part of Amateur Night at the Apollo. A year later, at just 10 years old, he was invited to perform at Stevie Wonder’s induction into the Apollo Theater’s Hall of Fame. He returned to the Apollo for FOX TV’s revival of SHOWTIME AT THE APOLLO in 2016, where he won the audience over with his rendition of Stevie Wonder’s classic “I Wish.” Among the many artists that inspire him, Matthew calls Stevie Wonder one of his musical heroes. In January 2017, he was named one of the 17 people to watch in New Jersey by The Record, one of New Jersey’s largest newspapers.

Мэттью Уитакер

Мэттью УитакерОфициальный сайт

22 июля 2018г. на главной сцене фестиваля выступит Мэттью Уитакер — молодое дарование из США и хедлайнер международного фестиваль «Джаз на Днепре 2018». 

Родившийся в 2001 году в Хакенсаке, штат Нью-Джерси, Мэттью Уитакер (Matthew Whitaker) вырос в окружении музыки. Его любовь к музыке впервые началась в возрасте 3 лет, после того как его дедушка дал ему небольшую клавиатуру Yamaha. В 9 лет Мэттью сам начал учиться играть на органе Hammond B3. Спустя четыре года он стал самым молодым исполнителем, который был одобрен Hammond — в своей 80-летней истории. Его также назвали артистом Yamaha в 15 лет, и он стал самым молодым музыкантом, который присоединился к звездной группе джазовых пианистов.

У Мэттью были годы музыкального обучения, в настоящее время изучающие классические фортепиано и ударные в Музыкальной школе Филомен М. Д’Агостино Гринберг Лайтхаус Гилд в Нью-Йорке. Это единственная общественная музыкальная школа для слепых и слабовидящих в США. Он также посещает Манхэттенскую школу музыки, а именно подготовительную джаз-программу. Мэттью ранее учился в Гарлемской школе искусств и был членом как джазового дома Big Band, так и органных исполнителей в Jazz House Kids в Монклер, Нью-Джерси. Мэттью получил «выдающуюся премию солиста» джазового направления в Линкольн джаз центре, премию конкурса и фестиваля средней школы Чарльза Мингуса и а также премию конкурса и фестиваль джазовой оркестровой школы средней школы Ellington High School. Он также был признан Международным кинофестивалем в Гарлеме, который назвал его «Самый замечательный молодой человек на экране».

Мэттью уже гастролировал как, в США, так и за рубежом, выступая перед Молодежной ассамблеей в штаб-квартире Организации Объединенных Наций в Нью-Йорке, а также на других всемирно известных сценах, в том числе:

  • Линкольн центр исполнительских искусств
  • Театр «Аполло»
  • Карнеги-холл
  • Джаз в Линкольн центре в Нью-Йорке
  • Центр SFJAZZ в Сан-Франциско
  • Центр  искусств имени Джона Ф.Кеннеди в Вашингтоне, округ Колумбия
  • на международных выставках во Франции, Италии, Марокко и Японии

В 2010 году Мэттью был победителем в конкурсе «Звезды детей завтра», как часть любительской ночи в «Аполло». Через год, всего в 10 лет, он был приглашен выступить в постановке Стиви Уандера в Зал славы Театра «Аполло». Мэтью вернулся в «Аполло» для возрождения FOX TV SHOWTIME AT APOLLO в 2016 году, где он завоевал аудиторию с его исполнением классической композиции Стиви Уандера «I Wish». Среди многих артистов, которые его вдохновляют, Мэттью называет Стиви Уандера одним из своих музыкальных героев. В январе 2017 года он был назван The Record, одной из крупнейших газет Нью-Джерси, одним из 17 человек, за карьерой которых стоит следить.