Sylwester Ostrowski

Джаз на Днепре

July 22, 2018 on the main stage of the festival “Jazz on the Dnieper” will sound the quintet of Sylvester Ostrovsky with the participation of Yakiv Tsvetinsky – it’s Polish mood, jazz sound and Ukrainian accents. This composition was formed especially for the festival “Jazz on the Dnieper 2018”.

Details of the programme for Jazz on the Dnieper:

  • Sylwester Ostrowski (PL) – ts
  • Miki Hayama (JPN) – p
  • Essiet Okon Essiet (USA) – b
  • Eric Allen (USA) – dr
  • feat. Yakiv Tsvietinskyi (UKR) – tp

On the programme:

  • F. Chopin music on a jazz sound
  • polish traditional song
  • original compositions
  • world famous jazz standard “Take 5” from Dave Brubeck Quintet repertoire
  • Ukrainian accent

Sylwester Ostrowski – jazz saxophonist, band leader and music producer. Laureate of the Grand Prix in the jazz standards competition Siedlce – Poland 2002 and the Fryderyk Award 2007 (Polish Gramy) for the production of Piotr Wojtasik’s album entitled “Circle”. For his efforts to found the Academy of Art in Szczecin in 2010, the Minister of Culture and National Heritage awarded him the decoration of honour “Meritorious for Polish Culture”.

He has made two original albums: “When the groove is low” (2011) and “Don’t Explain” (2013) recorded with American jazzmen Wayne Dockery and Newman T. Baker and another two as a co-leader; “Just Music” (2014), dedicated to the Asian markets, recorded jointly with the Japanese star Makoto Kuriya and “Kansas City Here I Come” (2016) recorded with the legendary American singer Deborah Brown.

The year 2018 is particularly important for Sylwester Ostrowski. In February, the saxophonist appeared with Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis and Darius Brubeck, performing as soloist the song Take 5 from the repertoire of Dave Brubeck. In March this year he took part in the recording session of the next album signed together with his own name and the name of the Grammy award winner, world jazz and trumpeter Keyon Harrold – album premiere on September 7, 2018. Currently, the musician focuses on creating his new original Sylwester Ostrowski Quintet, featuring “Lions” of the New York jazz scene: trumpeter Freddie Hendrix, pianist Miki Hayama, bassist Essiet Okon Essiet and drummer Eric Allen.

Moreover, Sylwester Ostrowski is very much involved in creating the musical culture of his home town – Szczecin City, Poland as an artist and activist. Winner of the artistic prize of the city of Szczecin for 2012. Since 2016, he has held the position of the Artistic Director of the Szczecin Jazz Festival, one of the most important music events in Poland.

BUY TICKETS for the festival “Jazz on the Dnieper”